My Love For The Sea

20160906_200142

Good Evening all.

This blog (9th September) marks the last night of being in Brixham and the eve of FishStock 2016.

As I sat myself on the rocks on Breakwater beach, watching the waves against the shore I realised that I’ve never written a blog about my love of the sea! Of course I write about my love of the things in the sea, but have never written about it itself.

The photo I took for this blog was the most beautiful sunset over Brixham. I watched the setting sun turn the sky all sorts of colours, and also the sea. It went from red, to orange and pink and all sorts of colours in between. Tonight, the sky was a deep grey, turning the sea a dark silvery colour. And I realised how beautiful it is, no matter what the weather is.

It’s only been in recent years that I have developed a deep love for the sea. I kid you not, and to be honest only since I’ve become a fishmonger! I remember quite a few years ago when I was a small girl coming over to Brixham on the ferry. The sky was blue, the sun out, I got on to the ferry, sat down and never moved! I stayed glued to the seat and closed my eyes!

Very different from now, every chance I get of being on boat on the sea, I’m on it and I don’t stay glued to the seat with my eyes closed. I’m stood up watching the waves around the boat, feeling the swell of the sea.

Also, I can’t swim. Well, I can a little. I received my red ribbon in primary school and that’s it. I think for a couple of reasons, my swimming teacher used to scare the living daylights out of me, not the nicest man! I also remember watching my life flash before my eyes when I was a little girl on holiday in Cornwall. It was a red hot day, I’d been brave and gone in the sea a little. There was a sand bank that I didn’t see, I went straight in as a wave came into shore, as I struggled to find my feet, the same wave went back out and knocked me under again!! And from then on I vowed only up to my ankles and that is sufficient!

The Sea has fascinated people for centuries. Books, songs, poems, films, great works of art and photography have captured the Sea in all its forms. People, myself included, can sit on a rock and watch the Sea for hours. It’s almost like a magnet. It can draw you in and almost powerless to draw away from it.

The Sea can also be incredibly dangerous. Institutions such as The RNLI and The Fishermen’s Mission exist because of the raw, untamed nature of the Sea. Fishermen old and young have left on their trawler, only to be claimed by the Sea.

We, with Britain as an island are very fortunate to have a diverse coastline. Every inch of it beautiful, but can also be deadly. I spent alot of my childhood holidays in Cornwall and for me were the best holidays ever.

There were times when I’d sit in the caravan window, in Perranporth, right up on Liskey Hill and I’d watch the storms. The waves looked about 100 foot high, the water as black as the clouds, the lightening bouncing off the sea. But next day, it would be as calm as a duck pond. Children would be playing in it, surfers out on their boards. For as much as the conditions of The Sea can be predicted, it can do what it likes and must be respected.

Part of me can understand why people would want to be wave watchers, when the Sea is stormy, but the Sea can be deadly. There is more power in a single wave than people realise. After all, the power of the Sea is used in hydro electric dams. People have been swept out to sea on surfboards when the Sea is seemingly calm. So when the Sea is truly showing man who’s boss, man has to learn his place.

The RNLI do many campaigns to keep people aware of the power of the Sea and to learn to respect it, and I think it’s advice everyone must follow.

So, there we have it. My love for the Sea, not just the fish that live within. We travel back home tomorrow after I do some fish filleting at FishStock and normal fishmonger service resumes next week!

Please follow the RNLI on Facebook and Twitter to see all the work they do, and also The Fishermen’s Mission for the amazing work they do for fishermen and families of those lost at sea.

Ems x

Leave a Reply

